NaPoWriMo #4 (extract)

Can you include extracts? Does that count? There’s just no way I’m going to be able to get anywhere near finishing some longer pieces in one day, so some days are going to have to be extracts or nothing. Other days are going to have to be ‘shoddy, badly edited sketches of poems’ or nothing, but that’s another story!

extract

It wasn’t so much sex, as it was clamping
my legs over another warm body
in contractual obligation
that I wouldn’t have to sleep alone.

They were good people,
for the most part,
I was lucky.

It wasn’t so much fun, as it was
slopping drinks until the grey morning
yawned, and I knew I had made it
through the night.

It wasn’t so much love, as it was
clinging screaming onto the shipwreck
of each other,

grief still poking
her grey fingers around my brain, like putty
long after I had renounced her logic.

Leave a Reply

